Deputy Minister Appointments Announced

first_imgThe province is reassigning senior-level positions to reflect changes to government departments and to best serve Nova Scotians, Premier Darrell Dexter announced today, May 31. “These new appointments will ensure government’s senior management team is able to most effectively meet the needs of Nova Scotians,” said Premier Dexter. “Nova Scotia is fortunate to have such a talented and dedicated team of deputy ministers to oversee government programs and services across the province.” Rosalind Penfound will become the deputy minister of Agriculture as well as Fisheries and Aquaculture. Ms. Penfound has served previously as deputy minister of Agriculture, as well as the Public Service Commissioner, experience that will help lead the departments of Agriculture and Fisheries and Aquaculture through their moves outside HRM. Frank Dunn, currently associate deputy minister of Education, will act as deputy minister of Education while the province embarks on a national search for a permanent deputy minister. Paul Lafleche will become deputy minister of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal. Margaret MacDonald will move to become deputy minister of Treasury Board, also overseeing the Chief Information Office, and Liz Cody will become the deputy minister of Finance. Doug Stewart will become associate deputy minister of Treasury Board. Mr. Stewart most recently was appointed to work with the Chignecto Central Regional School Board through its budget process. In his new role, he will focus on the longer-term sustainability of the province’s finances, beyond the four-year fiscal plan. These changes will come into effect Monday, June 11.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *