India to play over 200 international cricket matches from 2018 to 2023

first_imgIndia will be the busiest cricketing nation under the new Future Tour Programme for the five-year cycle from 2018 to 2023.According to the International Cricket Council, “the FTP focuses on bringing more context to bilateral cricket. A World Test Championship has been created along with a 13-team men’s ODI league that will act as a qualification pathway for the ICC Cricket World Cup.”There will be plenty of Test cricket for Indian fans to enjoy.”Nine top-ranked sides will participate in the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship, which will run from 15 July 2019 to 30 April 2021,” the ICC said in a release. “The sides will play six series in the two-year cycle on a home and away basis against opponents they have mutually selected. The two top-ranked sides will then progress to the June 2021 final to decide the World Test champions.”ICC announces schedule for Test Championship and ODI leagueIndia play England twice in the next FTP cycle and will play in a total of 102 internationals at home against every Test-playing nation barring Ireland and Pakistan.India and Pakistan have not played any bilateral cricket since the winter of 2012 due to political tensions.Overall, India will play more than 200 internationals including Tests, ODIs and T20 Internationals over the next five years.In 2018, India, who hosted Afghanistan for a one-off Test, will play West Indies, Australia and Zimbabwe at home. They will also tour Ireland, England, Australia and New Zealand.In 2019-20, India will host South Africa, Bangladesh West Indies and Australia. Their away tours will include only West Indies and New Zealand.advertisementIn 2020-21, India will host England, Zimbabwe and Afghanistan while they will tour Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Australia. In 2021-22, South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies and Sri Lanka will visit India.India will travel to Sri Lanka, England, South Africa and New Zealand.Next, in 2022-23, India will host Australia, Sri Lanka, England and New Zealand and tour England, West Indies and Bangladesh, where they will play Test cricket after several years.The revamped Future Tours Programme (FTP), starting with the Ashes series in England next year, will see teams play three home and away series over a two-year cycle. The top two teams will then progress to a June 2021 final.ICC chief executive David Richardson said the new schedule would provide context around all bilateral international fixtures.”The agreement of this FTP means we have clarity, certainty and most importantly context around bilateral cricket over the next five years,” he said in a statement.”Our members have found a genuine solution that gives fans around the world the chance to engage regularly with international cricket that has meaning and the possibility of a global title at the end.”The final league game of the Championship is set to take place in April, 2021, with Sri Lanka hosting the touring West Indies in a two-test series.The ICC also announced the creation of a 13-team one-day international (ODI) league. It will be made up of the 12 test-playing nations, along with the Netherlands, the winners of the World Cricket League Championship.The ODI league will serve as a qualification pathway for the 2023 World Cup. Hosts India and the seven highest-ranked sides in the league on March 31, 2022, qualify directly for the World Cup. The bottom five teams will compete for two remaining spots.(With agency inputs)last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *